Steve Marcus

Green Line w/ Sonny Sharrock (Limited Edition) (7427251064859)

Reduced price! Green Line w/ Sonny Sharrock (Limited Edition) View larger


Green Line w/ Sonny Sharrock (Limited Edition)

Steve Marcus

Life Goes On Records


LPS 169553




LP 14,86 €


16,51 €

Terrific session originally licensed on Japanese indie label Nivico in 1970. Recorded at Victor Studio, Aoyama Tokyo 11 September, the album is the essential work of four wicked minds.

Saxophone player Steve Marcus has been cutting his teeth in late sixties with the Jazz Composer's Orchestra, while Miroslav Vitous was the former bass player in jazz-rock pioneers Weather Report. Sharrock is still considered one of the most original player in creative music, his guitar playing almost as cutting edge as the tenor of his mentor Pharaoh Sanders. The man has been for several years in Herbie Mann band, while collaborating with the likes of Miles Davis and Wayne Shorter.

Drummer Daniel Humair is another extraordinary profile, the swiss musicians has been covering the post-bop and avant-garde area collaborating with the likes of John Surman, Henri Texier and George Gruntz. Hereby a single appointment that made history, navigating the realms of free-funk, hard-bop and fire music!


  • Steve Marcus - (tenor & soprano sax)
  • Miroslav Vitous - (bass)
  • Sonny Sharrock - (guitar)
  • Daniel Humair - (drums)

Recorded in Tokio, September 11, 1970


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Melvin
  • A2. Mr. Sheets At Night
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Green Line
  • B2. The Echos