Lionel Hampton

Hamp`S Big Band (LHJ 10318)

Hamp`S Big Band Agrandir l'image

Hamp`S Big Band

Lionel Hampton

Lone Hill Jazz


LHJ 117058

LHJ 10318



Hamp`S Big Band

Plus de détails

CD 10,73 €

Hampton’s talent didn’t diminish with the passing of the years. The outstanding album presented here showcases his breathtaking skills during the early days of Stereophonic recordings. Titled Hamp’s Big Band, the LP contains a big band session in which the master can be heard alternating between vibes, piano and drums.

He even sings on some tracks! Although the track Blue Lou (listed incorrectly on the original back cover as Blue You) was recorded during the Hamp’s Big Band sessions, it didn’t appear on the original LP confi guration despite being mentioned in the album’s original liner notes.
Instead, the song was only originally issued on a Playboy magazine compilation album. It is included on this edition with the rest of the music produced that day, all of which is issued here on CD for the fi rst time ever.
As a bonus, this release contains a complete session from the Silver Vibes album, which features such important modern jazz musicians as pianist Tommy Flanagan, trombonist Eddie Bert, and drummer Osie Johnson.

1-13: HAMP’S BIG BAND: Eddie Williams, Ed Mullens, Art Hoyle, Dave Gonsalves, Donald Byrd, Cat Anderson (tp), Clarence Watson, Lou Blackburn, Wade Marcus (tb), Bobby Plater, Ed Pazant (as), Herman Green, Andrew McGhee (ts), Lonnie Shaw (bar), Lionel Hampton (vib, p, d, vcl), Wade Legge (p), Billy Mackel (g), Lawrence "Skinny" Burgan (b), Charlie Persip, Wilbert "G.T." Hogan (d), possibly Cornelius "Pinochio" James (vcl on "Kidney Stew"). New York, April 13, 1959.

* Bonus tracks (from SILVER VIBES): 14-18: Dick Hixson, Eddie Bert, Lou McGarity, Bobby Byrne (tb), Lionel Hampton (vib), Tommy Flanagan (p), Billy Mackel (g), George Duvivier (b), Osie Johnson (d).
New York, March 10, 1960.

1) Flying Home 4:55
2) Hey, Baba Re Bob 6:02
3) Hamp’s Boogie Woogie 4:16
4) Kidney Stew 2:30
5) Hamp’s Mambo 3:19
6) Airmail Special 3:08
7) Big Brass 3:24
8) Red Top 3:41
9) Night Train 3:05
10) Elain & Daffy 3:39
11) Cutter’s Corner 3:11
12) Le Chat Noir 3:36
13) Blue Lou 4:02
14) For Better Or Worse 3:28*
15) What’s New? 4:34*
16) Walkin’ My Baby Back Home 2:18*
17) Till You Return 3:19*
18) Beulah’s Boogie 4:04*