Sarah Vaughan

Sings George Gershwin (EJC 55750)

Sings George Gershwin Agrandir l'image

Sings George Gershwin

Sarah Vaughan

Essential Jazz Classics


EJC 154375

EJC 55750



CD 12,36 €

Sarah Vaughan’s recordings for the Mercury and EmArcy labels during the 1950s were handled by a number of different arrangers and conductors, primarily Hugo Peretti and Hal Mooney (1911-1995). Mooney was the conductor and arranger of the 2-LP set presented here, Sarah Vaughan Sings George Gershwin (Mercury MGP-2-101), which followed the path started by the well-known Ella Fitzgerald/Norman Granz songbooks. Ella had presented her first songbook, dedicated to Cole Porter, in 1956, to enormous success. While Vaughan was recording this Gershwin collection, Fitzgerald was preparing her second work in the series, the Rodgers & Hart Songbook. Oddly enough, Sarah’s Gershwin set predates Ella’s – even though the latter had recorded a series of Gershwin songs for Decca in 1950, she wouldn’t make her own ambitious Gershwin Songbook (5 full LPs, conducted by Nelson Riddle) until 1959. Not that the release of the two Gershwin sets by such talented singers indicated a competition: their interpretations of the same songs belong to different worlds and are both well worth listening to.


Also Hal Mooney & His Orchestra, Including Jimmy Jones (p)
Featured musicians include Miles Davis, Cannonball Adderley, J. J. Johnson, Kai Winding, and Roy Haynes, among many others.


CD 1

01. Isn’t It A Pity?
02. Of The I Sing
03. I’LL Build A Starway To Paradise
04. Someone To Watch Over Me
05. Bidin’ My Time
06. The Man ILove
07. How Ling Has This Been Going On?
08. My One And Only (What Am I Gonna Do?)
09. Lorelei
10. I’ve Got A Crush On You
11. Summertime
12. Aren’t You Kinda Glad We Did?
13. They All Laughed
14. Looking For A Boy
15. He Loves And She Loves
16. My Man’s Gone Now
17. I Won’t Say I Will
18. A Foggy Day
19. Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off
20. Things Are Looking Up
21. Do It Again
22. Love Walked In

CD 2

01. Of Thee I Sing [Stereo LP take]
02. Summertime [alt tk]
03. I Won’t Say I Will [alt tk]
04. My One And Only [alt tk]
05. Embraceable You [studio version]
06. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
07. ‘S Wonderful
08. But Not For Me
09. Soon
10. Maybe
11. Fascinating Rhythm
12. Blah Blah Blah
13. I Got Rhythm *
14. The Man I Love #2
15. Nice Work IF You Can Get It
16. Embraceable You [Live version]
17. The Man I Love [Live version]